Aik Designs

——- Creative Solutions ——-

Home » What Are The Basic Steps To Be Followed To Become A Certified Scrum Master?

What Are The Basic Steps To Be Followed To Become A Certified Scrum Master?

3 min read
certified scrum master

On a Scrum-based Agile project, a certified scrum master plays a pivotal role. The primary facilitator schedules regular team meetings, helps members work better together, and eliminates obstacles to maximise output. Learn the seven-step process to become a Scrum master right now!


Step 1: Learn the basics of Scrum 

You must be well-versed in Agile concepts and the Scrum framework as a whole before taking on the role of Scrum master.


Step 2: Choose your Scrum certification

The most effective method for gaining knowledge on Agile, Scrum, and the responsibilities of a Scrum master is to enrol in a certificate program in the relevant field. Earning a certification is a great way to show your level of expertise and expand your career opportunities.

Among the many Scrum master credentials available are:


  • Certified Scrum Trainer (CST) by the Agile Alliance
  • An official Scrum Alliance Certified Scrum Master (CSM).
  • The Scrum Inc. Scrum Master.


Step 3: Attend a Scrum course

After deciding on a certification route, it’s time to sign up for an approved Scrum training programme. There are certain requirements for each certification choice; for instance, many companies insist that you complete their Professional Scrum Master training before you can take the PSM I test.


Step 4: Register For Your Exam 

After putting in the time to study, you’ll be ready to take the test and show that you have what it takes to be a Scrum master. offers a free retake of the test if you take it within 14 days of completing the training.


Step 5: Study For Your Exam

In the last days before a test, it’s crucial that you keep studying. You may guarantee your success on the exam by studying extra Scrum materials like as books and webinars.

Only few of the fundamental Scrum ideas and practices—including project management, team development, sprints, master schedule, progress reporting, and scalability—are often put to the test. However, you should also be ready to respond to inquiries about the founding ideas of Scrum, its history, and its subsequent progress on specific tests.


Step 6: Take And Pass The Exam

When moving from one certification programme to another, you might expect some degree of variation in the exam itself. In most cases, the test will consist of a series of multiple-choice questions, and the minimum score required to pass might range anywhere from 60–85 percent. Exams usually take about an hour, and the results are normally made accessible not long after the end of the test. After you have successfully completed the exam, your position as a Scrum master will be validated, and an electronic PDF copy of your certification will be sent to you.


Step 7: Renew Certifications Every Two Years

Certified Scrum Masters must renew their credentials every two years or risk losing their status as industry leaders.



Once you have obtained the qualification which fulfils CSM certification: the basic eligibility, you should apply for a Scrum master position. Create a resume that emphasises your talents, i.e., the skills you gained through past positions, education, or interests that are applicable to the job for which you are seeking. And step onto the path of successful career.

About Author